When Your World Tilts on Its Axis

I didn’t think Donald Trump could win.earth-1451899-640x960

I was wrong.

I held my view for two reasons. First, I didn’t believe the country would elect someone with such apparently extreme viewpoints.

I was wrong

 

 

Second, the pollsters said Clinton would most likely win.one-plus-one-1256854-639x395

They were wrong.

This morning I feel as if the world has tilted on its axis and that my world view has missed something important and I am still not sure what it was. In short, I have, at this moment, no idea what the future holds. I thought I did yesterday.

I was wrong.

What do you do when your world has tilted on its axis? Many things in life can make us feel this way: loss of a job, death of a spouse or child or other close loved one, divorce, lots of things. What do you do?

oh godIf you believe in God, you pray, and have faith that She/He is people-sling-ridestill watching over us.

 

If you are humanistic and believe in the basic goodness of people, you take comfort in that.

 

Mostly you just get up and go on with your day. Brush your teeth, make your coffee, get beautiful-set-of-teeth-1559770-639x465your kids dressed for school, do your job, take a walk. Stick to your routine.

You don’t allow your darker thoughts to hold the day. When you have them, express your fears to someone you trust, someone who cares about you. Cry if you feel like it.

 

 

hamburger-and-french-fries-1326614-639x736Eat some comfort food. I plan to have a hamburger and fries for lunch.

In other words, treat your mind and heart like you treat your body when it hurts. Take care of yourself. Your bad feelings will pass in time. Your world will right itself .

 

 

 

Less than Helpful Advice

Say it:face-dumbfounded-1438542-639x479

My world will right itself
Breathe
My world will right itself
Breathe
My world will right itself
Breathe

About almondhead

I am a mental health counselor in private practice. One of the focuses of my practice is helping people with fear, anxiety and their ugly stepsister, depression. I became a counselor after a long career in the technology world, so naturally, I think of the brain as an engineering problem. It can help to understand something about how the brain works. I decided to start this blog as a way to help other people learn about fear, anxiety and relationship. (All our problems are really about relationships.) You can also find me at: www.virtuallyfearless.com www.PsychologyToday.com www.theravive.com http://www.marriagefriendlytherapists.com/
This entry was posted in Less Than Helpful Advice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.